India Squad for T20 World Cup 2022 Announced

India Squad for T20 World Cup 2022 Announced

India Squad for T20 World Cup 2022 Announced

Two pacers, Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel, have returned to the team as India announced the squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia, as confirmed by the Board of Cricket Control in India (BCCI). Due to injury, Bumrah and Patel were unable to participate in the just finished Asia Cup.

Mohammad Samir, a sprinter, was omitted from the 15-man roster. The Pacers’ defeat in the Asia Cup sparked suspicions that Sami might be added to the team. Sami, though, is on the reserve squad. Shreyas Iyer and Deepak Chahar are present as well.

Asia Cup death overs bowler Arshdeep Singh bowled proficiently with his left arm. Consequently, he has maintained his position on the World Cup team. Bhuvneshwar Kumar also participates in the pace attack. In India’s last Asia Cup encounter against Afghanistan, he got five wickets for four runs. Bhubaneswar was also the tournament’s leader in wickets taken.

Ravindra Jadeja has been ruled out of the World Cup after suffering a knee injury at the Asia Cup. In place of Jadeja, left-arm spinning all-rounder Akshar Patel has been added to the team. In addition, the off-spinning all-rounder Deepak Hooda has been retained in the World Cup squad.

India will go to Australia with both Rishav Pant and Dinesh Karthik as wicketkeepers. Yuzvendra Chahal and Ravichandran Ashwin are real spinners in the team. With them, Patel and Hooda will spin.

India is in Group 2 of the World Cup’s Super Twelve. On October 23 in Melbourne, the defending champions India will open their World Cup campaign against their bitter rivals Pakistan.

India will play two warm-up matches before to the World Cup’s main tournament. Team India will conclude their World Cup preparations against world champions Australia and New Zealand on October 17 and 19, respectively.

India was led by Virat Kohli throughout the most recent World Cup. Team India accomplished the Super Twelve mission. This time around, India will be led by Rohit Sharma. Rohit will captain India for the first time in a World Cup event.


India T20 World Cup

Rohit Sharma (captain), Lokesh Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Akshar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhubaneswar Kumar, Harshal Patel and Arshdeep Singh, Mohammad Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar.



Also Read: Bangladesh T20 World Cup Squad 2022 Announced

To Top