Cricket South Africa Announced Squad for the T20 World Cup 2022

Cricket South Africa Announced Squad for the T20 World Cup 2022

South Africa Squad for the T20 World Cup 2022, Bavuma Returns from Injury

Cricket South Africa has named their 15-man squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2022. Captain Temba Bavuma has rejoined the team following his recovery from an injury. Due to a finger injury, Rassie van der Dusen has been ruled out off the World Cup.

Since the India series, Bavuma had suffered from ailments. Therefore, he did not participate in the ODI and T20 series against England. Africa is unable to capture him, not even in the ongoing test series. However, he returned as the World Cup team’s captain.

In addition, Riley Russo, a left-handed batter who returned to international cricket after a lengthy absence in the South African jersey, has been selected for the World Cup team by Cricket South Africa’s selectors. But unfortunately for the African players, Dusen is unable to participate in the World Cup since he has not fully recovered from his injuries. He had finger injuries during the second Test of the series against England.

Tim David was given to the World Cup squad by Australia. The administration of the African squad then sent him home. Dr. de Khale then prescribed at least six weeks of rest. Therefore, it is nearly difficult for him to be fit in time for the World Cup in six weeks. Miller-Bavuma will have to compete in the World Cup without one of the team’s finest batters.

The excellent play of opener Reza Henriques has earned him a spot in the World Cup team. The team also consists of wicket-keeper batsman Quinton de Kock and Aiden Markram. Tristan Stubbs will be participating in his first World Cup. However, batter Janeman Malan failed not make the World Cup selection for South Africa. The team also without pacer Marco Johnsen and all-rounder Andili Felucao.

On October 24, South Africa will play their opening match of the T20 World Cup. However, their first opponent has not yet been decided. After the preliminary round of the World Cup, Bavuma’s team’s first opponent will be determined.


T20 Squad:

Temba Bavuma (captain), Quinton de Kock, Heinrich Klaasen, Reeza Hendricks, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Rillee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Bjorn Fortuin, Marco Jansen and Andile Phehlukwayo, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Tristan Stubbs.



Also Read: Mohammad Rizwan Dethrone Babar Azam in Latest ICC T20 Rankings 2022

Tags: No tags

Comments are closed.