Bangladesh T20 World Cup Squad 2022 Announced

Bangladesh T20 World Cup Squad 2022 Announced

Bangladesh T20 World Cup Squad 2022 Announced

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has selected a 15-man squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia. In addition, four more individuals have been placed on standby alongside the main crew. The selectors announced the team on Wednesday during the BCB news conference (September 14).

The T20 format has undergone a number of modifications between the Asia Cup squad and the World Cup squad. Mushfiqur Rahim has retired already. This time, the seasoned Mahmudullah Riyad has withdrawn from the World Cup team.

Former captain Mahmudullah Riyad was a topic of discussion for several days prior to the team’s announcement. The team was finally announced without him. BCB has selected Nurul Hasan Sohan as captain Shakib Al Hasan’s deputy. Previously, Afif Hossain Dhrub served as Shakib’s backup, when Sohan was injured and unable to participate in the Asia Cup.

Enamul Haque Vijay, Naeem Sheikh, Sheikh Mehdi Hasan, and Parvez Hossain Imon have been omitted from the most recent Asia Cup roster. They have been replaced by Liton Kumar Das, Yasir Ali Rabbi, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, and Hasan Mahmud.

In addition, Sheikh Mehdi Hasan will remain in the World Cup as a reserve even if he is not on the main team. The remaining reserves are leg spinner Rishad Hossain, left-handed pacer Shariful Islam, and left-handed opener Soumya Sarkar.

Regarding the World Cup team, the head selector Minhajul Abedin Nannu stated, “We hold Mahmudullah Riyad in the highest regard. He has won several quality bouts. The arrival of our new technical consultant. He offered a plan. The strategy that we are proceeding with for the next year will take us in a new path. Riyad was released with the approval of the entire team management.”


Bangladesh Team in World Cup

Shakib Al Hasan (Captain), Sabbir Rahman, Mehdi Hasan Miraj, Afif Hossain Dhrub, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Liton Kumar Das, Yasir Ali Rabbi, Nurul Hasan Sohan (Co-Chairman), Mostafizur Rahman, Saifuddin, Taskin Ahmed, Ibadat Hossain Chowdhury, Hasan Mahmud, Nazmul Hasan Shanto and Nasum Ahmed, Shariful Imlam, Risad Hossain, Sheikh Mahadi Hasan and Soumya Sarkar.



Also Read: Mahmudullah Riyad Dropped from Bangladesh T20 World Cup Squad 2022

To Top